Carver School of Social Work Hosts Pinning and Hooding Ceremony | Lifestyles

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. — At its December 10 pinning and hooding ceremony in the Gheens Recital Hall, Campbellsville University’s Carver School of Social Work recognized students for completing Bachelor of Work programs Social and Masters in Social Work.

“Today in this pinning you go from student to professional social worker,” said Dr. Helen Mudd, dean of the Carver School of Social Work and professor of social work. “The teachers sitting here have invested in your lives and they care deeply about your success.”

“It’s time to shine,” Mudd told graduates. “You have worked so hard.”

Mudd said the Carver School of Social Work was established in 1996.

Dr. DeNika VanCleave, Assistant Professor of Social Work, announced that the following graduates have become members of the Carver School’s Phi Alpha Honor Society: Hannah Loren Brown, Kyleigh Gisson, Karen Goss, Patrick Junjulas, Noemi Murrilo, Elizabeth Neogra and Misty Triplett.

VanCleave said the nominees were elected by the society “based on their academic achievements and interest in social work.”

“The highest honor that can be received in social work at the Carver School of Social Work is now granted to you, as you are a confirmed candidate for initiation and you have met all the requirements of this organization,” said she declared.

Cynthia Colyer, Director of the Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) Field Education and Senior Professor of Social Work at Noe Education Center in Somerset; Dr. Kimberly Mudd-Fegett, Associate Professor of Social Work and PCWCP Coordinator; and Kelly Joplin, associate professor of social work and BSW site coordinator at the Conover Education Center in Harrodsburg, pinned the BSW graduates.

These candidates were: Hannah Loren Brown of Louisville, Ky.; Madison Taylor Elliott of Shelbyville, Ky.; Henry Neal Feagin of Andalusia, Alabama; Harold Hugh Garvey of Louisville, Ky.; Emily S. Locklear of Pembroke, North Carolina; Jamie M. Powell of Columbia, Ky.; McKenzie A. Rice of Lancaster, Ky.; Amy L. Russell of Hustonville, Ky.; Nicole Schmuff of Davenport, Iowa; and Tosha Simpson-Robinson of Springfield, Ky.

Kalon Moody, Master of Social Work (MSW) Director of Field Education and Assistant Professor of Social Work; Dr. Michelle, Associate Dean of the Carver School of Social Work and Director of MSW; and Dr. Candace Hansford, professor of social work, led the hooding of MSW graduates.

These candidates were: Whitney Abuzour of Gray, Ky.; Deborah Abreu of Louisville, Ky.; Pretty Ambakhen of Columbus, Ohio; Natasha Asbury of Georgetown, Ky.; Alondra Ayala of Salinas, California; Jacob Bachelor of Menifee, California; Rachel Back of Lexington, Ky.; Katherine Bassett of Henderson, Ky.; Hannah Bauer of Louisville, Ky.; Sandra Berkoh of Bronx, NY;

Ashtin Bolanos of Lexington, Ky.; Natasha Bowling of Booneville, Ky.; Teresa Burrell of Salt Lake City, Utah; Randy Cable of Portsmouth, Ohio; Miranda Cain of Williamsburg, Ky.; Brooke Calvin of West Valley City, Utah; Bryan Campbell of Louisville, Ky.; Lisa Chill of Stafford, Virginia; Sara Clark of Lexington, Ky.; Tacara Colema of Oakfield, Tennessee; Christy Combs of Winchester, Ky.;

Arielle Connor of Berea, Ky.; Natalie Curry of Columbia, Ky.; Melanie Dumas from Lebanon, Maine; Joel Ellis of Bella Vista, Ark.; Kyle Evans of Lexington, Ky.; Abby Gabat of Fort Wayne, Indiana; Keyana Galloway of Toledo, Ohio; Kyleigh Glisson of Memphis, Tennessee; Karen Goss of Tapron Springs, Florida;

William Grear of Oakland Park, Florida; Michelle Green of Goldsboro, North Carolina; Michelle Hancock of Somerset, Ky.; Allison Hart of Bayville, NJ; Elizabeth Hoffman of Coarsegold, California; Carol James of Louisville, Ky.;

Jennifer Jennings of Radcliff, Ky.; Patrick Junjulas of Cold Springs, NY; Jordan Klett of Holland, Michigan; Amber Knight of Greenville, Ky.; Morgan Lakes of Annville, Ky.; Skylar Lanham of Philpot, Ky.; Jessica Leger of Mount Sterling, Ky.; Jovanna Maldonado of Lexington, Ky.;

Kendal Martin of Paducah, Ky.; Jaime Martinez of Ashland, Ky.; Janay McPherson of Lithonia, Georgia; Brent Meade of Paintsville, Ky.; Elizabeth Mildenhall of Pleasant Grove, Utah; Nichole Mitchell of Louisville, Ky.;

Destiny Mobley of Bakersfield, California; Jasmine Morris of Paducah, Ky.; Cindy Morris of Louisville, Ky.; Lora Mullins of Eminence, Ky.; Noemi Murrillo of Long Beach, California; Kerri Nelson of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Elizabeth Neogra of Farmingville, NY; Hazard’s Terra Noble, Ky.; Jordan O’Brien of Muskegon, Mich.; Arva Parker of Clovis, California;

Krystal Patterson of Barbourville, Ky.; Tiffany Patterson of Louisville, Ky.; Lela Peppi of Pikeville, Ky.; Liberty Petty of Louisville, Kentucky; Caroline Phillips of Bexley, Ohio; Susan Powell of Glasgow, Ky.; Sharon Prater of Salyersville, Ky.; Alexandra Quillen of Hazard, Ky.; Katlyn Richardson of Somerset, Ky.; Mary Richardson of Emporia, Kansas; Kimberly Roberts of Nancy, Ky.; Lauren Runyon of Independence, Ky.;

Joshua Shipp of Kingsport, Tennessee; Alicia Smith of Canton, Mississippi; Bethany Smith of Ashland, Ky.; Ellen Spivey of Indian Mound, Tennessee; Emma Stanley of Lynchburg, Virginia; Phillip Steely of Corbin, Ky.; Danielle Street of Owensboro, Ky.; Alicia Thomas of Johnson City, Tennessee; Misty Triplett of Ashland, Ky.;

Samuel Villa of Visalia, Calif.; Angela Vinson of Tomahawk, Ky.; Laura Walker of Richmond, Ky.; Allison West of Salem, Ill.; Heather White of Whitesburg, Ky.; Megan Winegardner of Columbus, Ohio; and Amanda Wright of Sunbury, Ohio.

Dr. Renee Sartin, associate professor of social work and director of the BSW site at the Louisville Education Center, provided special music. Neil Caldwell, assistant professor of social work, offered the opening prayer, and Dr Anne Adcock, assistant professor of social work and director of BSW, gave the benediction.

Campbellsville University is a widely acclaimed Christian university based in Kentucky with over 12,000 students offering more than 100 degree programs, including doctoral, master’s, bachelor’s, associate’s, and certification programs. The website for complete information is

About Barbara Johnson

Check Also

Four Yale researchers honored at the 2022 Association for Clinical and Translational Science Awards

The collaboration that advanced the discovery of ketamine as a treatment for depression was among …